Second #BrainTumorThursday Campaign in Oct, 2013.


The second #BrainTumorThursday campaign in October was fabulous..  For this week, the numbers: Impacts (deliveries to people’s timelines): about 47 M+; Participants: about 1250; and Tweets: about 2,400.  This brings the two weeks totals to: Impacts about 71.5 M+; Participants: about 2150; and Tweets: about 4,450.  Obviously, for this month, the campaign is on track to reach and exceed 100,000,000 impacts.

A few notes about the statistics listed above:

  1. All the totals are listed as approximate due to problems with the feed from Twitter to third party apps.  There are gaps in the feed.  Sometimes there is an hour or two gap in the feed and sometimes accounts with high follower counts are omitted.  Thus, the numbers reported by all third party apps are typically low.
  2. With respect to the total number of participants over two or more campaigns, there is no reliable way that I know of to delete duplication.  In other words, @melee_me tweets in every weekly campaign, but included in the participate number for each campaign.  This means that she is included twice in the cumulative totals over the first two campaigns.
  3. With respect to impacts, it should be understood that the figures do not indicate unique impacts on unique.  An example is that if I tweet something and @melee_me RTs it, and we have a common follower, the tweet will show up in that followers timeline twice and two impacts for the same tweet will be recorded.  How this is interpreted is beyond me, but it suggests that we may have no true measure of the success of the campaigns over time.  Still, week over week increases do mean something.

And now for an admission and apology.  Over the last few weeks and months, I had become convinced that I played a crucial role in each campaign; that no campaign could possibly reach the same high levels without my heavy involvement.  I fully expected that the numbers for this week would fall short of last week solely due to my absence.  The large totals and huge success of this week’s campaign proved me quite wrong.  As a result, pride and arrogance have been replaced by humility.    Hopefully my growing feelings of self-importance did not find their way into my tweets, but, if they did, please accept my sincerest apologies.

3 thoughts on “Second #BrainTumorThursday Campaign in Oct, 2013.

  1. Ever since I lost my mind and claimed part of the credit for founding #BrainTumorThursday, I have been sensitive to getting carried away with self-importance. Hence, I wanted to come clean on the attitude I described above.

    By the way, for the record, #BrainTumorThursday was created by @uvmer: all I can claim is being an early adopter of the awareness campaign.

Leave a Reply

