What’s Good About a Brain Tumor?


My pastor was speaking yesterday about being thankful to God in all circumstances.  This seems to be an absurd concept in the case of a brain tumor diagnosis.  The again, maybe not.

My pastor told a story about when he was a pastor at a small country church in the deep south.  The parsonage sat in the middle of a grave yard.  That is not a location of which most people would be thankful, By he tells this story.

As is the custom in small southern towns (its not really limited to small southern towns), people often brought food to the pastor.  On one such occasion, the food item delivered was raw chitlins for cooking.  For the uninitiated, chitins are the intestines of a pig and would best be described as an “acquired taste.”  Having not acquired the taste my pastor had to do something to get rid of the chitlins and could not throw them away because members of his congregation hauled his trash to the dump (no garbage pick-up in the country.  He then realized he was living in the middle of a place where things were buried.  So, under the cover of darkness, he buried the chitlins in the grave yard.  He could thereafter say without hesitation that he was thankful for living in a grave yard.

Another example of how seemingly bad things can become something for which you can be thankful.  My friend’s husband had to have a “routine” hip replacement.  In the pre-op assessment, a heart condition was discovered that could have suddenly killed him.  She now tells everyone how thankful she is for needed hip replacement surgery.

You get the drift, many things that can knock to your knees can be viewed as a blessing.  For me, the brain tumor has caused me to lean hard on God and improve my relationship with Him, sharpened my focus, enabled me to speak about my faith with more confidence, led me to take a renewed interest in exercising to maintain my strength, driven me to become a passionate and compassionate participant in #BrainTumorThursday,  I am therefor thankful for my brain tumor.

Without doubt many others have found ways to be thankful for my brain tumor.  On such example is found on the PRISM BALANCE blog.  Although I’ve mentioned it before, The Not-So-Obvious Benefits of Brain Surgery is a great post that also provides some things that can make a brain tumor something for which you can be thankful.

So, my challenge to you is to consider whether you can be thankful for anything related to you brain tumor.  If you are so inclined, please consider sharing it below.  Additionally, if you think I’m insane of this idea is crazy, please comment below if you are so inclined.

A subsequent post is related to this post.

9 thoughts on “What’s Good About a Brain Tumor?

  1. I am very thankful for my dad’s seizure 11 months ago today. It alerted us that he had a brain tumor and it gave us time to help him go through treatment. Even though he only lived for 10 months after the seizure, it allowed us to make the last 10 months of his life as good as we possible could and his journey should us the extreme good in this world.

    • I am Keith’s sister. I, too, am thankful for my Dad’s seizure for those same reasons. I also am thankful for the ability to be there with him as he was taken to Heaven. There are so many things to be sad about, but I am so glad he was with his family singing and praying before he took his last breath.

  2. I’m so glad you linked her blog here! I had to twist her arm (hah, kind of…not really) to make sure it was OK to post it on Twitter. She’s an amazing warrior…and I’m glad to have connected with her. And you!

  3. Oh my gosh, thank you for the link! (I have yet to learn how to link directly onto my blog.) I’m so glad to be helpful to people. 🙂

    Oh, and Heather, thank you so much for making me cry. And for posting on Twitter. 😉

  4. Pingback: One Thing Leads to Another | Brain Tumor Awareness

Leave a Reply

